Raymond Lloyd Brown


High School Career

Greenville High School (1951-1954)

• 11 athletic letters (football, baseball, basketball & track)

• Captain, 1953 Big Eight Championship football team

• 1953 Eight track champions

• All Big Eight, Big Eight MVP (’53)

• Two-time All-State, All America in football

• First Team All Southern in four Sports (’52, ’53)


College Career

Ole Miss (1954-1957)

• Two-sport letterman in football (3) & baseball (2)

• 1955 SEC Champions, football team

• 1956 SEC Champions, baseball (College World Series)

• 26-5-1 football record

• 1956 Cotton Bowl

• 1958 Sugar Bowl

• SEC passing leader (‘56)

• SEC total offense (’57)

• First Team All SEC quarterback (’58)

• Only unanimous MVP in Sugar Bowl history


Pro Career

Baltimore Colts (1958-1960)

• NFL Champions (’58, ‘59)


Special Recognition

• President of Pascagoula Jaycees (’64-’65)

• President of Ole Miss M-Club Alumni Association (’68-’69)

• President of Pascagoula Rotary Club (’68-’69)

• President of Mississippi Defense Lawyers Assn (’75-’76)

• President of Mississippi Bar (youngest ever Bar President) (’78-’79)

• President of Southern Conference of State & Local Bar Presidents (’79-’80)

• President of Ole Miss Alumni Association (’91-’92)

• President of Ole Miss Law Alumni Association (’96-’97)

• President, the Gulf Coast Community Foundation (’02-’04)

• Regent, American College of Trial Lawyers (’05)

• President of Trustees, First United Methodist Church, Pascagoula (’05)

• All-Time Sugar Bowl Team (’55-’62)

• Distinguished American Award from the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame (Gulfport Chapter)


Hall of Fame Memberships

• Ole Miss Athletic Hall of Fame (1988)

• Ole Miss Alumni Hall of Fame (2000)

• Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame (2006)


Did You Know?

At the time of his induction, Ray Brown was still the only unanimous choice for MVP of the Sugar Bowl in the game’s history. Ray’s 92-yard touchdown run against Texas prompted all 116 media members to agree on the winner of the Miller-Digby MVP Trophy. Ray played in the game considered by many to be the Greatest Game in Pro Football history on December 28, 1958, when the Colts defeated the New York Giants 23-17 in overtime at Yankee Stadium.

Facebook Likes

News & Updates

  • USM’s McMahon wins C Spire Ferriss Trophy

    James McMahon, a finalist for NCAA Division I Pitcher of the Year, today was presented the C Spire Ferriss Trophy at a luncheon at the M…



    If you are looking for an enjoyable way to spend some of your free time, please consider volunteering at the Mississippi Sports Ha…

Rick & Orley’s Writings



© Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame