| News & Updates RSS feed for this section

Small-town Mississippi rocks sports world

What is it about small-town Mississippi? Last night, Amory’s Mitch Moreland hit two home runs for the Texas Rangers and now has 12 for the season. He is hitting .300. In Cincinnati, Taylorsville’s Billy Hamilton swiped four more bases and now has 40. In the same game, Brian Dozier of Fulton launched his 16th home […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

George Bryan to receive fourth Rube Award

West Point native George Bryan, who brought the 1999 U.S. Women’s Open golf championship to the nationally renowned golf course he built in his hometown, will receive the Rube Award for his lifetime of contributions to Mississippi sports. The Rube Award is named in honor of the late Michael Rubenstein, long-time TV sportscaster and executive […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Hutton among 5 to enter MAC Hall of Fame

CLINTON — Doug Hutton, a 1995 inductee to the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame, is among five who will be inducted into the Mississippi Association of Coaches Hall of Fame on June 26. The MAC Hall of Fame Class of 2015 includes:  RONNIE CUEVAS, championship football coach at Gulfport, Starkville, and Harrison Central, who is […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Calvin Smith will start Watermelon Classic

Bolton native Calvin Smith, the world’s fastest human for more than four years, will be the official starter for the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame’s Farm Bureau Watermelon Classic 5K road race on July 4. That will be 22 years and one day after Smith dazzled the track and field world when he ran 100 […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

Mitch Deaver, PRCC publicist, dies at 62

By Janet Braswell POPLARVILLE – Mitch Deaver, a fixture along the sidelines of Pearl River Community College athletic fields and courts, died Monday, June 1, at his home. Deaver, 62, was sports information director at PRCC, a position he had held since April 1996. He was known throughout the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

USM’s McMahon wins C Spire Ferriss Trophy

James McMahon, a finalist for NCAA Division I Pitcher of the Year, today was presented the C Spire Ferriss Trophy at a luncheon at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. For McMahon, a senior from Oak Grove, it was another highlight in a magical season. Heading into this week’s Conference USA Tournament, McMahon […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }


If you are looking for an enjoyable way to spend some of your free time, please consider volunteering at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.  We are in need of reliable, responsible people to help with regular shifts and special events held at our building.  We have regular three hour shifts:  10am to […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

C Spire Ferriss Trophy finalists announced

Two pitchers, two sluggers and one player who does both are the five finalists for the C Spire Ferriss Trophy, which will be awarded May 18 at a luncheon at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. The Ferriss Trophy, named for Mississippi baseball legend Boo Ferriss, goes annually to the most outstanding college […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }

C Spire Ferriss: Lots of quality candidates

For a Mississippi team to go deep into college baseball’s post-season, somebody is going to have to go on a tear starting soon — like immediately. The good news: It has happened before. Many times. Recently, the C Spire Ferriss Trophy has seemingly served as a catalyst. Two years ago, Mississippi State’s Hunter Renfroe won […]

Read full story Comments { 0 }


It is time to once again announce the winner of the C Spire Ferriss Trophy emblematic of the most outstanding collegiate baseball player in the state of Mississippi.  Named after the legendary player, coach and Mississippi Sports Hall of Famer, Dave “Boo” Ferriss, the winner is selected by vote of Major League scouts who cover Mississippi […]

Read full story Comments { 1 }

Facebook Likes

News & Updates

Rick & Orley’s Writings



© Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame