William Lyon Chadwick


High School Career

Wingfield High School, Jackson, MS (1966-1970)

• Mississippi High School Singles Champion


College Career

Belhaven College, Jackson, MS (1970-1974)

• Member national sixth-ranked team with twin brother Barney (’74)


Coaching Achievements

Ole MIss Lady Rebels Tennis Team Head Coach (1979-1982)

• First National Ranking in Program History; AIAW 7th place (’82)

Ole Miss Men’s Tennis Team Head Coach (1983-present)
Through MSHOF Selection (2005):

• Career record: 380-193

• Coached Ole Miss to the NCAA Tournament 14 times including 11 Sweet Sixteens, 7 Elite Eights, and 4 Final fours

• NCAA team championship final match and NCAA Doubles championship (’95)

• Five SEC West crowns and four SEC Championships (’96, ‘97, ’04, ‘05)

• Six top five national finishes with 11 top ten ational finishes in span of 12 years; top 25 national rankings in 20 seasons

• Two-time SEC Coach of the Year (’96, ‘04)

• Coached 44 All-SEC players, 55 Academic All-SEC honorees, 17 All-Americans, and 16 Academic All-Americans including two national First Team CoSIDA Academic All-Americans


Special Recognition

• Intersectional Coach, Southern Tennis Association National Championship Team Tourny (’88)

• Director, SkyTel National Collegiate Clay Court Championships (’93, ‘94)

• Director, Boys 18 National Interscholastic Championships (only USTA national junior tourny held in MS) (1993-1997)

• MS Tennis Association Coach of the Year (’94-’95, ‘97)

• USPTA Southern Division Coach of the Year (’95, ‘02, ’04)

• ITA Southest Region Coach of the Year (’04)

• Belhaven College Athletic Hall of Fame (’00)


Did You Know?

Billy is one of only 7 active NCAA Division I tennis coaches to lead a team to the NCAA Tennis Championship finals and only one of three active Division I coaches to lead a team to four or more Final Fours. His four SEC titles rank favorably with fellow Ole Miss MSHOF coaching members Tom Swayze (4 in baseball) and Johnny Vaught (6 in football). Chadwick was the longest-tenured coach in Ole MIss athletic history at the time of his induction.