The C Spire Howell and C Spire Gillom Trophies

Posted on: March 29,2019

The C Spire Howell and C Spire Gillom Trophies are a part of the C Spire Outstanding Award Series. Presented each year to the state’s top men’s and women’s college basketball players, the awards are named in honor of our Mississippi Sports Hall of Famers Bailey Howell and Peggie Gillom Granderson.

Howell was an outstanding player at Mississippi State and in the NBA.  He is a member of the Naismith (International) Basketball Hall of Fame. Gillom was an All-American at Ole Miss, played professionally and has coached in both college basketball, in the WNBA and in the Olympics.

The awards are presented in early March each year. See the photo gallery below featuring the previous winners of the awards.

The 2020 C Spire Howell and C Spire Gillom Trophies were presented on March 16th during a luncheon at the Museum. Click here to read more about the 2020 winners.

The C Spire Outstanding Player Awards Series includes the C Spire Conerly, C Spire Howell, C Spire Gillom and the C Spire Ferriss Trophies.

C Spire Howell and Gillom Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *