2022 C Spire Conerly Trophy

Posted on: November 01,2022

UPDATE NOVEMBER 29th at 1:30 p.m.:

Due to expected inclement weather in the metro-Jackson area, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and its partners have made the difficult decision to transition tonight’s C Spire Conerly Presentation to a virtual event only. Out of concern for the honored players, coaches, family, and friends expected to travel from across the state, there will be no longer be in-person activities on November 29th at the Country Club of Jackson. 

The event including the introduction of all ten nominees, the announcement of the finalists, and the presentation of the 2022 C Spire Conerly Trophy will be available for streaming tonight at 6:30 p.m. through the MS Sports Hall of Fame website at the link provided: 

Live Stream the program HERE!

The C Spire Conerly Trophy is presented annually to the Magnolia state’s top collegiate football player.

The award is named in honor of the late Hall of Famer Charlie Conerly, former Ole Miss and New York Giants quarterback. Conerly, a Clarksdale native, was an All-American at Ole Miss and a Pro Bowl stand-out for the Giants who led New York to three NFL Championship games and one NFL Championship.

The honor is announced each year during a banquet and program on the Tuesday night following Thanksgiving. Since its inception in 1996, winners have gone on to excel in the NFL and two have even been inducted into the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2022 C Spire Conerly Trophy will be presented on November 29th at 6:30 p.m.

The Mississippi’s Most Outstanding Player Awards Series includes the C Spire Conerly (football) and the Howell (men’s basketball), Gillom (women’s basketball) and Ferriss (baseball) Trophies presented by Pearl River Resort and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)