Category: Annual Events

The C Spire Conerly Trophy

Posted on: March 30,2019

The C Spire Conerly Trophy is presented annually to the Magnolia state’s top collegiate football player. Past winners include NFL stars such as Deuce McAllister, Jerious Norwood, Eli Manning and Dak Prescott.

The Kent Hull Trophy

Posted on: March 30,2019

Named for Mississippi State and NFL offensive lineman great Kent Hull, the award goes annually to the most outstanding offensive lineman in Mississippi senior college football. It is chosen by a panel of former coaches, former NFL players and scouts. The Kent Hull Trophy is presented by Entergy annually at the C Spire Conerly Banquet […]

The C Spire Outstanding Player Series

Posted on: March 29,2019

C Spire is the sponsor of the three college awards listed below.  All awards banquets/luncheons are open to the public. The Museum does not have a vote in any of the events.  Media (football and basketball) or major league scouts and college coaches (baseball) select the winners. All athletes enrolled in Mississippi’s four-year schools are […]

The Orley Hood Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism

Posted on: March 28,2019

Named for beloved Mississippi newspaperman Orley Hood, the award goes to the outstanding High School sports journalist in Mississippi. It is chosen by a panel of sports journalists. Winners 2014 – Jack Hall 2015 – Jack Hall 2016 – Grant Murphy 2017 – Joe Pearson 2018 – Andrew Gardner 2019 – Joe Pearson 2020 – […]