The Howell and Gillom Trophies presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort

Posted on: March 29,2019

The Howell and Gillom Trophies presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort are a part of the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame Outstanding Award Series. Presented each year to the state’s top men’s and women’s college basketball players, the awards are named in honor of our Mississippi Sports Hall of Famers Bailey Howell and Peggie Gillom Granderson.

Howell was an outstanding player at Mississippi State and in the NBA.  He is a member of the Naismith (International) Basketball Hall of Fame. Gillom was an All-American at Ole Miss, played professionally and has coached in both college basketball, in the WNBA and in the Olympics.

The awards are presented in early March each year. Statewide media covering basketball vote for the players they feel are the best, selecting only one player per school. Three players are selected for each award as finalists. Statewide media then completes a second ballot to rank the finalists and the player with the most votes will take home the trophy. See the photo gallery below featuring the previous winners of the awards.

The 2023 Howell Trophy was presented to Tolu Smith of Mississippi State University and the 2023 Gillom Trophy was presented to Angel Baker of the University of Mississippi. Click here to read more about the 2023 winners.

The Mississippi Outstanding Player Awards Series includes the C Spire Conerly, and the Howell, the Gillom and the Ferriss Trophies presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort.

Howell and Gillom Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)