Category: Annual Events

The Orley Hood Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism

Posted on: March 28,2019

Named for beloved Mississippi newspaperman Orley Hood, the award goes to the outstanding High School sports journalist in Mississippi. It is chosen by a panel of sports journalists. Winners 2014 – Jack Hall 2015 – Jack Hall 2016 – Grant Murphy 2017 – Joe Pearson 2018 – Andrew Gardner 2019 – Joe Pearson 2020 – […]

The C Spire Ferriss Trophy

Posted on: March 26,2019

The C Spire Ferriss Trophy is a part of the C Spire Outstanding Award Series. Presented to the top college baseball player, the award is named in honor of Dave “Boo” Ferriss, the former Mississippi State great and Boston Red Sox Hall of Famer and long-time Delta State University coach. The award is presented in […]