The Ferriss Trophy presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort

Posted on: March 26,2019

The Ferriss Trophy presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort is a part of the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame Outstanding Award Series. Presented to the top college baseball player, the award is named in honor of Dave “Boo” Ferriss, the former Mississippi State great and Boston Red Sox Hall of Famer and long-time Delta State University coach.

The award is presented in mid-May each year. The Ferriss Trophy is selected by a group of professional baseball scouts who cover Mississippi and by the baseball coaches at each school. The top five nominated by this panel become finalists and another round of votes select the winner. No more than one candidate per school may be chosen. See the photo gallery below featuring the previous winners of the awards.

The 2023 Ferriss Trophy was presented to Kemp Alderman from the University of Mississippi. Click here to read more about the 2023 winner.

The MSHOF Outstanding Player Awards Series includes the C Spire Conerly and the Howell, the Gillom, and the Ferriss presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort.

Ferriss Winners

One response to “The Ferriss Trophy presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort”

  1. Novel Rogers says:

    Time to name the FerrisSEC trophy to an SEC player from Ole Miss or MS State.

    You guys lost all credibility last year when your five finalists were three (3) from OM and two from State.

    You conveniently ignored USM yet we had (another) outstanding season, made postseason (again) and we were loaded with talent. We sent several from that team to MLB.

    Your SEC bias is nauseating.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)