The C Spire Conerly Trophy

Posted on: March 30,2019

The C Spire Conerly Trophy is presented annually to the Magnolia state’s top collegiate football player.

The award is named in honor of the late Hall of Famer Charlie Conerly, former Ole Miss and New York Giants quarterback. Conerly, a Clarksdale native, was an All-American at Ole Miss and a Pro Bowl stand-out for the Giants who led New York to three NFL Championship games and one NFL Championship.

The honor is announced each year during a banquet and program on the Tuesday night following Thanksgiving. Since its inception in 1996, winners have gone on to excel in the NFL and two have even been inducted into the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame (Deuce McAllister and Patrick Willis). See the photo gallery below featuring the previous C Spire Conerly Winners.

C Spire Conerly nominees are selected by each school, usually with consultation between the football staff and administrative office.  Votes are then collected sports media who cover each of the teams from across the state. The players receiving the most votes become the finalists and the top vote-getter is announced as the winner.

The 2022 C Spire Conerly Trophy was presented during a virtual banquet on November 29th, 2022. The event is held annually on the Tuesday evening following Thanksgiving.

The Mississippi’s Most Outstanding Player Awards Series includes the C Spire Conerly (football) and the Howell (men’s basketball), Gillom (women’s basketball) and the Ferriss (baseball) Trophies presented by Pearl River Resort and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.

C Spire Conerly Winners

One response to “The C Spire Conerly Trophy”

  1. Yvette Devine says:

    Why doesn’t anyone from Jackson State, Alcorn, or Mississippi Valley ever win? Has anyone from these schools ever won?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)