C Spire Ferriss Trophy Finalists Announced

Posted on: May 14,2018

The C Spire Ferriss Trophy is named for the late Dave “Boo” Ferriss, Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame Class of 1961.

Jackson, MS:  The five finalist for the 2018 C Spire Ferriss Trophy which goes to the most outstanding college baseball player in the state were announced today.  These five players and their coaches will be invited to a luncheon banquet held at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame on Monday May, 21st.  This is the 15th Annual Ferriss Trophy presentation and is named after Boo Ferriss who starred for the Boston Red Sox prior to a long career as baseball coach at Delta State University.
“This year may be the toughest choices in the history of the event,” said Hall of Fame Executive Director Bill Blackwell.  “With so many schools ranked nationally at all levels you know there must be great players throughout the state.”
The University of Southern Mississippi is the only school with two finalists, landing both pitcher Nick Sandlin and infielder Luke Reynolds in the top five.  Joining the two Golden Eagles are Delta State star first baseman Zack Shannon, Mississippi State outfielder Jake Mangum and Ole Miss outfielder/infielder Ryan Olenek.
Fans can help select the winner of the prestigious award by voting at beginning at 5pm Monday and continuing through noon on Saturday May, 19th.  “This is a great opportunity for fans of each player to have a chance to influence the outcome of the vote,” Blackwell said.  “C Spire gives everyone the opportunity to vote just like MLB does for their All-Star game.”
Tickets for the luncheon are on sale now online or at their offices located at 1152 Lakeland Drive in Jackson.  Tables, half tables and individual tickets are available for the event that begins at 11:30.  Mississippi Sports Hall of Famer, Jay Powell will be guest speaker at the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)