C Spire Howell, Gillom finalists named

Posted on: March 02,2015 newcomers, Victoria Vivians of Mississippi State and Stefan Moody of Ole Miss, are among the finalists announced today for the C Spire Gillom and Howell trophies.
Vivians, a freshman from Scott Central, is joined by Tia Faleru of Ole Miss and Tamara Jones of Southern Miss as finalists for the C Spire Peggie Gillom Trophy, which goes annually to the most outstanding female basketball player in the Mississippi.
Moody, a junior college transfer from Kissimmee, Fla., is joined by Chip Armelin of Southern Miss and Devin Schmidt of Delta  State as finalists for the C Spire Bailey Howell Trophy, which goes annually to the top male player in the state.
Voting was done by a statewide panel of media who cover college basketball in the state. The two trophies will be presented at a March 9 luncheon at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. The same media will now vote from among the finalists and account for 90 percent of the final voting. Fan voting, conducted by C Spire, will account for a weighted 10 percent of the final voting. Fan voting will begin Tuesday at 8 a.m. Fans can vote at
The C Spire Gillom finalists (in alphabetical order):
2014 Ole Miss Women's BasketballTIA FALERU: A 6-foot-1 senior forward from Ozark, Ala., Faleru averaged a double-double with 14.7 pointsand 10.5 rebounds per game. She made 49.4 percent of her field goal tries, fourth best in the SEC.



TAMARA JONES: A 5-11 senior forward from Prosser, Wash., she led the 20-8 Goldern Eagles with 16.2 points and 6.5 rebounds per game. She shot 50 per cent from the floor.
Vivians_VictoriaVICTORIA VIVIANS: A 6-1 freshman from Scott Central, led the 26-5 Lady Bulldogs in scoring with 15 points per game, second best in the nation and scored 39 points in a game at Kentucky. Also averaged 5.1 rebounds per game.
The C Spire Howell finalists (in alphabetical order):


CHIP ARMELIN: A 6-4 senior guard from Sulphur, La., Armelin finished fourth in Conference USA in scoring with a 16 point average, but led the league in scoring in conference games only with an 18.6 per game average. He was an iron man, playing 38.4 minutes per game in C-USA games.


STEFAN MOODY: A 5-10 junior guard, Moody was fourth in the SEC in scoring with a 16.4 average, led the league in free throw shooting at 91.1 percent, was third in steals at 1.7, and first in 3-point goals with 184.


DEVIN SCHMIDT: A 6-4 sophomore guard from Sevierville, Tenn, Schmidt made 41 percent of his 3-pointers and 81 percent of his free throws in leading the Statesmen in scoring with 21.1 points per game. Schmidt also led DSU in assists with with 4.0 per game and contributed 4.6 rebounds per game.
Tickets and sponsorship tables are still available for the C Spire Howell and Gillom Luncheon by calling 601 982-8264. The luncheon is set for 11:30 a.m.

One response to “C Spire Howell, Gillom finalists named”

  1. Timothy and Stephanie Vivians says:

    For Vicky vivians the best players in the SEC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)