Fans can help determine 2015 C Spire Conerly winner

Posted on: November 24,2015
The great Charlie Conerly.

The great Charlie Conerly.

With several Mississippi college football teams playing meaningful football games in late November, fan interest is predictably high. And, for the third time, Mississippi college football fans can help choose the C Spire Conerly Trophy winner.

Fan voting, conducted by C Spire, will account for a weighted 10 percent of the voting. A panel of statewide media will account for 90 percent.

The 10 Conerly Trophy finalists are Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott, Ole Miss wide receiver Laquon Treadwell, Southern Miss quarterback Nick Mullens, Mississippi Valley State safety Marquis Green, Mississippi College wide receiver Marcel Newson, Alcorn State running back Darryan Ragsdale, Millsaps College linebacker Hector Sandoval, Belhaven Unversity cornerback Isaiah Swopes, Jackson State defensive end Javancy Jones and Delta State wide receiver Jarvis York.

 Fan voting begins today (Nov. 24) at 1 p.m. CST and concludes on Monday, Nov. 30 at 1 p.m. Fans will be able to submit their vote on and then can add additional votes via Twitter and text messaging. To place your vote now, click here.

 Among past C Spire Conerly Trophy winners are such prominent former and active NFL standouts as Deuce McAllister, Eli Manning, Jerious Norwood, Michael Boley, Patrick Willis, Anthony Dixon and many others.  Last year, McAllister, the leading rusher and touchdown scorer in Ole Miss and New Orleans Saints history, was the first C Spire Conerly winner to enter the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

 “Football fans across Mississippi are very passionate about their schools and the star players in their respective programs, especially with the success of so many teams this year. We are excited to give fans the ability once again to help influence who wins the C Spire Conerly Trophy,” said Jim Richmond, vice president of Corporate Communications for C Spire.

“We want fans to take part in identifying Mississippi’s best college football player, especially with so many teams having outstanding seasons,” said Rick Cleveland, executive director of the MSHOF and co-sponsor of the award along with C Spire. “Major League baseball and other sports have used fan voting for years. We think involving fans will help sustain interest in an award that’s an integral part of the college football scene.”

 The C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet will be held Dec. 1 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. A 5:30 p.m. reception will be followed by the 6:30 p.m. dinner program.  Coaches and finalists from all the schools are expected to attend.  For ticket availability, call 601 982 8264.

 Now in its 20th year, the Conerly Trophy presented by C Spire is named after the late Charlie Conerly – the only football inductee in the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame who was an All-American at a Mississippi university, an NFL rookie of the year and NFL All-Pro member and quarterbacked a team to a world championship.  C Spire has sponsored the outstanding player awards program for all major college sports in Mississippi since 1998.



About C Spire:

C Spire is a diversified telecommunications and technology services company that provides world-class customer-inspired service and a superior comprehensive suite of customer-inspired wireless communications, high-speed Internet access and a range of other telecommunications products and services to consumers and businesses.  This news release and other announcements are available at For more information about C Spire, visit or follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at


One response to “Fans can help determine 2015 C Spire Conerly winner”

  1. MIKE GUYTON says:

    Treadwell wins fan vote congrats/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)