Finalists Announced for the 2023 Ferriss Trophy Presented by the MBCI and Pearl River Resort

Posted on: May 12,2023

Jackson, Miss. (May 12, 2023) The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum is proud to announce the finalists for the 2023 Ferriss Trophy presented by the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians and Pearl River Resort. Each year the most outstanding player in college baseball in Mississippi is awarded the Ferriss Trophy, named for legendary player and coach Dave “Boo” Ferriss. The finalists for this prestigious award are selected by a panel of coaches and professional scouts. This same panel will now be tasked with selecting this year’s winners.

The five players in contention for the 2023 Ferriss Trophy are Ty Hill of Jackson State, Hunter Hines of Mississippi State, Kemp Alderman of Ole Miss, Slade Wilks of Southern Miss, and last year’s winner, Tanner Hall who is also from Southern Miss.

Prior to this weekend’s games, Ty Hill has the highest batting average at .400 with 15 doubles, 4 triples, and 6 homeruns. Sophomore Hunter Hines leads the Bulldogs with 22 homeruns and 57 runs batted in. Ole Miss’ Kemp Alderman combines a .377 batting average with 19 homeruns and 59 runs batted in. Slade Wilks of the Golden Eagles hits .319 with 18 homeruns and 52 runs batted in. Tanner Hall, the only pitcher of the group, sports a 9-3 record and a 2.71 era with only 57 hits allowed in 73 innings pitched.

The five finalists and their coaches will be recognized during a luncheon and program on Monday, May 22nd at the Golden Moon Casino at Pearl River Resort. The luncheon is open to the public but tickets to the event must be purchased in advance online at or by calling the Hall of Fame offices at 601-982-8264.

All proceeds from the event benefit the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. If you are unable to attend, a live stream of the luncheon will be available on the Hall of Fame website. The Ferriss Trophy is a part of the Outstanding Player Awards Series which also recognizes the top college athlete in football with the C Spire Conerly Trophy and the top college men’s and women’s basketball players with the Howell and Gillom Trophies presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort.

About The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame

The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame exists to promote, preserve and protect Mississippi’s rich sports heritage for this and generations to come. The Museum serves as a destination for sports legends to live forever through interactive displays and exhibits where visitors can play, live and dream. The 501(c)(3) organization recognizes excellence in athletics and contributions to sports. For more information about the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum, visit or follow us on Facebook at or Twitter at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)