Finalists Announced for the 2024 Howell and Gillom Trophies honoring top college basketball players

Posted on: February 27,2024

Jackson, Miss. (February 27, 2024) The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum is proud to announce the finalists for the 2024 Howell and Gillom Trophies presented by the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians and Pearl River Resort. The Howell and Gillom trophies are awarded annually to the most outstanding men’s and women’s college basketball players in the state of Mississippi. These trophies were named for MS Sports Hall of Fame Inductees and basketball legends, Peggie Gillom-Granderson and Bailey Howell.

The finalists for the Howell Trophy are Josh Hubbard of Mississippi State, Matthew Murrell of Ole Miss, and Austin Crowley of Southern Miss.

The finalists for the Gillom Trophy are Jessika Carter of Mississippi State, Marquesha Davis of Ole Miss, and Domonique Davis of Southern Miss.

The six finalists and their coaches will be recognized at a luncheon and program on Monday, March 11th at the Golden Moon Casino. Hall of Famer Gerald Glass will be the featured speaker for the event. The luncheon is open to the public, but tickets must be purchased in advance. Tickets are on sale below. If you cannot attend in person, the event will be live-streamed on the Hall of Fame website.

All proceeds from the event benefit the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. The Howell and Gillom Trophies are a part of the Outstanding Player Awards Series which also recognizes the top college athlete in football with the C Spire Conerly Trophy and the top college baseball player with the Ferriss Trophy presented by MBCI and Pearl River Resort.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)