Jackson and Perry Take Home C Spire Howell, Gillom Awards

Posted on: March 09,2020
(Left to Right) Peggie Gillom-Granderson, Rickea Jackson, Reggie Perry, and Bailey Howell

The winners of the 2020 C Spire Gillom and C Spire Howell Trophies were announced today at a luncheon held at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.  The awards go annually to the Most Outstanding College Basketball players in the state.  The C Spire Gillom Trophy which goes to the top ladies player was won by freshman Rickea Jackson of Mississippi State.  The C Spire Howell Trophy for the men was presented to Reggie Perry of Mississippi State.

Jackson becomes the sixth consecutive C Spire winner from Mississippi State following four-time winner Victoria Vivians and Teaira McCowan last year’s winner.  Jackson led the Lady Bulldogs to a second place finish in the SEC tournament finals.  She was the team’s leading scorer averaging 15 points per game.

Perry, a 6’10” sophomore, takes home the C Spire Howell trophy after compiling a 17.4 ppg average and grabbing 312 rebounds.  Quinndary Weatherspoon of MSU was the 2019 winner.  The Bulldogs head into the SEC Men’s Tournament with a 20-11 record.

The C Spire Howell Trophy has been awarded each year since 2005 and the C Spire Gillom Trophy was given the first time in 2008.  The other finalists for the ladies included Quantesha Patterson of Delta State and Jessika Carter of Mississippi State.  Breein Tyree of Ole Miss and Ledarius Woods of Tougaloo College were the other men’s finalists.

Winners are selected by a vote of state-wide media and a fan vote sponsored by C Spire which accounts for 10% of the final tally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)