Last C Spire Conerly Trophy watch list

Posted on: November 19,2013

Mississippi State likely will nominate All American offensive guard Gabe Jackson as its candidate for the C Spire Conerly Trophy. Jackson, a fifth-year senior, ranks at or near the top of virtually very NFL draft expert’s list at the guard position.
Jackson has not allowed a sack this season and has consistently graded out a champion (80 percent above). He graded 86 percent with three knockdown blocks against No. 1 ranked Alabama last Saturday giving him 25 knockdowns for the season. Jackson also is a leading candidate for the first annual Kent Hull Trophy, which will be awarded to the state’s top collegiate offensive lineman at the C Spire Conerly Trophy Banquet on Dec. 3 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.
Each of Mississippi’s 10 football-playing senior colleges will announce their finalists on Monday Nov. 25.
Joining Jackson on this week’s C Spire Conerly Trophy watch list: Ole Miss quarterback Bo Wallace, the 2012 C Spire Conerly winner, passed for 272 yards and three touchdowns and rushed 66 yards and another touchdown in the Rebels’ 51-21 victory over Troy Saturday.
Wallace has moved into fourth place in school history in career total offense yards (6,280), fourth in career passing yards (5,658), fourth in passing TDs (39) and second in 300-yard passing games (7). He has led Ole Miss to a 7-3 record.
Ole Miss free safety Cody Prewitt, one of 15 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award (nation’s top defensive back), is tied for first in the SEC with four interceptions and ranks in the top five in the SEC for passes defended and forced fumbles.
Alcorn State running back Arnold Walker led the Braves to a 9-3 record by rushing for 1,191 yards and 5.3 yards per carry. He also caught 13 passes for another 174 yards. He ran 14 times for 87 yards and caught three passes for 37 yards in the Braves’ season-ending win over JSU.
Jackson State quarterback Clayton Moore, who has led JSU into the SWAC championship game, completed 19 of 37 passes for 269 yards in a regular-season ending loss to Alcorn State.
Southern Miss senior defensive tackle Khyri Thornton had four tackles and one quarterback hurry in a 41-7 loss to Florida Atlantic. Despite often being double-teamed Thornton has recorded 39 tackles including 6.5 for losses this season. He is considered a likely NFL draft choice.
Millsaps running back Mike Barthelemy finished a splendid junior season rushing for 128 yards and two touchdowns against Rhodes in Millsaps’ first loss of the year. Barthelemy has run for 1,386 yards and a school-record 21 touchdowns. Majors defensive end Zach Bell finished in the top five in the nation in sacks with five and in the top 15 for tackles for loss with 19.
Delta State wide receiver Ricky Hunt caught 10 passes for 156 yards and a touchdown in a 38-20 loss to West Georgia. Hunt finished the season with 68 catches for 840 yards and seven touchdowns.
Mississippi College quarterback Jonathan Redd became the first player in school history to record double-digit touchdown totals for passing and rushing. Despite missing two games with injuries, he threw for 18 and ran for 11 and was responsible for at least four touchdowns in each of the Choctaws’ final four games. Redd completed 58.4 percent of his passes for 1,948 yards.
Mississippi Valley State cornerback Avery Boykin made his SWAC leading sixth interception of the season last Saturday and also was in on seven tackles, two for losses.
Belhaven, whose season ended Nov. 9, is expected to nominate NFL prospect Matt Hall, a 6-foot, 10-inch, 315-pound offensive lineman who played at both Arkansas and Ole Miss before transferring to Ole Miss.
To order tickets to the C Spire Conerly Trophy Banquet, call 601 982-8264.
Fans can take part in C Spire Conerly voting.

One response to “Last C Spire Conerly Trophy watch list”

  1. Bobby Hobson says:

    Cody Prewitt from Ole Miss is without a doubt the best player in the State of Mississippi this year. He leads the SEC in interceptions and is always around the ball making game changing plays.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)