Ole Miss' Fahn Cooper wins 2015 Kent Hull Trophy

Posted on: November 26,2015

Fahn Cooper, 74, has excelled at both left and right tackle for the Rebels. (Photo by Joshua McCoy/Ole Miss Athletics)

Fahn Cooper, 74, has excelled at both left and right tackle for the Rebels.
(Photo by Joshua McCoy/Ole Miss Athletics)

Fahn Cooper, who has started every game of his Ole Miss career at either left or right tackle and played consistently well, will receive the 2015 Kent Hull Trophy.
The Hull Trophy, named for Mississippi State and NFL great Kent Hull, goes to the most outstanding college offensive lineman in Mississippi. The selection is made by a panel of pro scouts and former college coaches and players.

Cooper, normally the team’s right tackle, shifted to left tackle when Laremy Tunsil was suspended for the Rebels’ first seven games of the season. Cooper’s performance at left tackle was of the keys to the Rebels’ victory over Alabama.
Fahn has been one of the most consistent players on our team this year,” Ole Miss coach Hugh Freeze said. “He is an extremely tough lineman whose flexibility has been key to our offensive success. He is extremely valuable and one of our best leaders both on and off the field.”
Said Cooper, “I am honored to receive this award but it’s a tribute to my teammates around me and my coaches.”
Cooper started as a freshman at left tackle for Bowling Green, then spent a year in junior college before transferring to Ole Miss for the 2014 season. The 6-foot-5, 305-pounder has been a model of consistency.
Said Ole Miss offensive line coach Matt Luke, “The unique thing about Fahn is just how unselfish he’s been. We moved him over to left tackle when we were without Laremy and he didn’t miss a beat. Laremy comes back and Fahn moves back over to the right tackle and doesn’t complain. He just goes out and makes us better. He has really become a leader this season and has graded well consistently..
We had Fahn at left tackle and three redshirt freshmen starting in the offensive line when we beat Alabama,” Luke continued. “That says something about Fahn right there.”
Cooper follows Mississippi State’s Gabe Jackson and Tunsil as winners of the Hull Trophy.
Said Luke, who has coached the last two winners, “I am just so proud we have this award in Mississippi to honor deserving offensive lineman. I followed the career of Kent Hull. I know what a special player and man he was.”
The Hull Trophy will be presented the C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet Tuesday night at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

2 responses to “Ole Miss' Fahn Cooper wins 2015 Kent Hull Trophy”

  1. Jerri says:

    Congratulations, Fahn! You and your team made all of in Rebel Nation so proud this year! Job well done!!!

  2. Caroline Cooper says:

    Congratulatons My Most Handsome Son
    WELOVEYOU!!! And are Soooo… Proud of You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)