Rooker Wins 2017 C Spire Ferriss Trophy

Posted on: May 22,2017

Mississippi State’s leading offensive player, outfielder/firstbaseman Brent Rooker has been named the winner of the 2017 C Spire Ferriss Trophy.  The trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding college baseball player in Mississippi as chosen by a combination of the state’s baseball coaches, professional baseball scouts that cover the state and a fan vote sponsored by C Spire.
Rooker leads the team in 15 offensive categories and is among the leaders in the NCAA in several statistics.  Batting average, slugging percentage, On-base percentage, runs, hits, rbi, doubles, triples, home runs, walks, total bases, and stolen bases are his team leading departments.  On the year he is batting .415, has 85 hits, including 20 home runs, 28 doubles,  3 triples and 73 rbi.
The five finalists for this year’s award were Rooker of Mississippi State, Zack Shannon of Delta State and three players from the University of Southern Mississippi Taylor Braley, Dylan Burdeaux and Matt Wallner.
2017 was the 14th presentation of the Trophy named for Dave “Boo” Ferriss.  Ferriss was born and raised in Shaw, MS, played college baseball at MSU and became an all-star performer for the Boston Red Sox before becoming the long-time head coach of the Delta State baseball team.  Ferriss, who passed away last fall was inducted into the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame in the class of 1964.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)