State's Dak Prescott wins C Spire Conerly Trophy

Posted on: December 01,2015

Dak Prescott: The first back-to-back winner in C Spire Conerly history.

Dak Prescott: The first back-to-back winner in C Spire Conerly history.

Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott tonight became the first player in 20 years of C Spire Conerly trophies to win two straight Conerlys.
Prescott joins Ole Miss legend Eli Manning as the only two-time winners in history of the award, which goes annually to the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi.
Ole Miss wide receiver LaQuon Treadwell and Southern Miss quarterback Nick Mullens were the other finalists for the award, named for Mississippi Sports Hall of Famer Charlie Conerly.
Also, Ole Miss offensive tackle Fahn Cooper was awarded the Kent Hull Trophy, which goes to the most outstanding offensive lineman in the state. The offensive lineman award is named for the late Kent Hull, a Mississippi State and pro football standout.
Former Conerly winners Deuce McAllister, Jerious Norwood, Rod Davis and Josh Bright all were present for the 20th anniversary banquet.
Treadwell edged Prescott in the fan voting, which accounts for 10 percent of the final tally. Both players received 44 percent of the more than 27,000 votes. USM’s Mullens was third in the fan voting. The other 90 percent of the final tally comes from a select panel of Mississippi sports media who regularly cover the state’s college football teams. A final vote tally is not announced. The voting is tabulated by an outside auditor.
Other finalists included Jackson State’s Javancy Jones, Alcorn State’s Darryan Ragsdale, Mississippi Valley State’s Marquis Green, Mississippi College’s Marcel Newson, Millsaps Hector Sandoval, Belhaven’s Isaiah Swopes and Delta State’s Jarvis York.
Prescott, a Haughton, La., native, is a finalist for six different national player of the year awards. Treadwell is one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff Trophy that goes to the nation’s best wide receiver. Mullens had broken the USM passing records of former Conerly winner and current pro Austin Davis and also the great Brett Favre.
A sold-out, capacity crowd was on hand for the C Spire Conerly presentation at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

One response to “State's Dak Prescott wins C Spire Conerly Trophy”

  1. Kay says:

    You fellows got it right. No one deserved this award more than Dak. He is the epitome of what a student/athlete should be. We are so proud to call him one of us. Thank you, Conerly Trophy Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)