Three more C Spire Conerly finalists added

Posted on: November 20,2014

Quarterback Tyler Sullivan, who has led the Delta State to a 9-1 record and a first-round bye in the NCAA Division II playoffs, will represent the Statesmen as a C Spire Conerly Trophy finalist.
Representing Southern Miss will be senior defensive end Dasman McCullum, who leads USM with 4.5 sacks and four forced fumbles.
Daniel Williams, a sophomore wide receiver with 63 catches for 909 yards and eight touchdowns, will be Jackson State’s Conerly finalist.
Six of the 10 Conerly finalists have now been named. Earlier, Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott, Belhaven’s Greg Livingston and Mississippi College’s Dylan Klibert were selected by their coaches as finalists.
Mississippi’s 10 football-playing senior colleges have until Nov. 24 to name their respective finalists. Still to come are representatives from Ole Miss, Alcorn State, Mississippi Valley State and Millsaps. The C Spire Conerly Trophy annually goes the most outstanding college football player in Mississippi. It is named for Ole Miss and New York Giants great Charlie Conerly.
The C Spire Conerly Trophy will be awarded Dec. 2 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. Among past winners are such prominent future NFL standouts as Deuce McAllister, Eli Manning, Jerious Norwood, Michael Boley, Patrick Willis, Anthony Dixon and many others.  Last year’s winner was Mississippi State offensive lineman Gabe Jackson, now with the Oakland Raiders.
DSU’s Sullivan, from Louisville, has personally accounted for 31 touchdowns in leading one of the nation’s most productive offenses. He has completed 247 of 382 passes for 3,098 yards and 24 touchdowns. His TD/interception ratio is 24-12 and he has run for seven more scores.
McCullum, a senior from Hebron, has been a consistent leader for the USM defense. For his career he has 7.5 sacks, 24.5 tackles for loss, seven pass breakups, five fumble recoveries and two blocked kicks.
JSU’s Williams ranks third in the SWAC in receiving with 82.6 yards per game.
As was the case last year, fans will have a say-so in the voting. Fan voting conducted by C Spire will account for a weighted 10 percent of the voting. Voting by a statewide panel of media will acount for the other 90 percent.
Just as the media voters do, fans will vote for a first place, second place and third place winner. Fans will be able to vote by Facebook, Twitter and via text messaging. Fans may submit up to three votes per day during the voting period; however, only one entry is allowed per day for each of the social media methods.  For entry rules and qualifications on fan voting, go to beginning on Nov. 25.
The Dec. 2 banquet, at which the second annual Kent Hull Trophy also will be presented to the top college lineman in Mississippi, is nearing a sellout with limited seating. Contact the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame at 601 982-8264 for tickets or more details.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)