Tunsil wins second annual Kent Hull Trophy

Posted on: November 25,2014

Laremy Tunsil, 78, gets ready to lower the boom against Texas A&M.

Laremy Tunsil, 78, gets ready to lower the boom against Texas A&M.

Ole Miss left tackle Laremy Tunsil, named a mid-season All-American by, The Sporting News and Phil Steele, has been selected to win the second-ever Kent Hull Trophy as the most outstanding college offensive lineman in Mississippi.
The trophy is named in honor of the late Kent Hull, the former Mississippi State great who went on to play in four Super Bowls for the Buffalo Bills. Mississippi State’s Gabe Jackson, now with the Oakland Raiders, won the inaugural Hull Trophy.
Tunsil will accept the award at the C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet Dec. 2 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.
“Laremy is the most athletic offensive lineman I have ever coached,” Ole Miss coach Hugh Freeze said. “Not only is he a great player, but he is an even better young man. The Hull family can be very confident that he will represent this award in a manner that will make them proud”
Last year, Tunsil made All-SEC as a true freshman. Playing against some of the most athletic defensive ends in college football in the SEC Western Division, he has give up only one sack in each of his two seasons.
Tunsil, who came to Ole Miss as a five-star recruit out of Lake City, Fla., was named a freshman first team All American by Sporting News, College Football News,, and Athlon.
Said Matt Luke, Tunsil’s position coach at Ole Miss: We’re honored to have Laremy receive this prestigious trophy. He is an exceptional person and talent, and we know he will represent this award well both on and off the field.”
The Kent Hull Trophy winner is selected by a panel including former college coaches, former NFL coaches and scouts and former college players.
Very limited seating remains for the C Spire Conerly Trophy Banquet, which will be emceed by nationally renowned sportscaster Ron Franklin. Call 601 982-8264 to order tickets.

2 responses to “Tunsil wins second annual Kent Hull Trophy”

  1. Jeremy says:

    I can’t understand how Ben Beckwith didn’t win this award. He is a SR walk-on that played two different positions for MSU. He was named SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week 3 times this year! Tunsil didn’t receive this honor at all, this year. Please explain how this is right?

  2. Terry Fulton says:

    Tunsil over Beckwith? Ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)