Vivians, Moody claim C Spire hoops trophies

Posted on: March 09,2015

Mississippi State junior Victoria Vivians and Ole Miss junior Stefan Moody today were named the winners of the C Spire Gillom and Howell trophies as the most outstanding college basketball players in Mississippi this season.
Vivians, who set the Mississippi high school scoring record at Scott Central, becomes the first freshman

Victoria Vivians (left) and Peggie Gillom.

ever to win the Gillom Trophy, named for former Ole Miss standout Peggie Gillom. Vivians led the SEC in scoring, helping State to a best-ever 26-5 record and a No. 11 national ranking.
Moody, a junior from Kissimmee, Fla., led Ole Miss with 16.6 points per game and was one of the national leaders in free throw shooting, hitting 91.2 percent of his free throws. The Howell Trophy is named for the great Bailey Howell, a Naismith (international) Baskeball Hall of Famer.
Vivians won over Ole Miss senior Tia Faleru, who averaged a double-double for the much improved Lady Rebels, and Southern Miss senior Tamara Jones, who averaged 16.3 points per game to lead the Golden Eagles to a second straight 20-victory season.

Stefan Moody (right) and Bailey Howell.

Moody won over Southern Miss senior Chip Armelin, who led Conference USA in scoring in league games, and Delta State sharpshooter Devon Schmidt who averaged 21 points per game for the Statesmen.
Moody became the third straight Ole Miss Rebel to claim the C Spire Howell Trophy.
Voting for the C Spire Howell and Gillom trophies was done by selected Mississippi sports media who cover college basketball. A weighted 10 percent of the final vote came from on-line fan voting conducted by C Spire. Vivians and DSU’s Schmidt led the fan voting.
Click here for Photo Gallery

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)