Vivians, Moody repeat winners of C Spire awards

Posted on: March 07,2016

Victoria Vivians of Mississippi State and Stefon Moody of Ole Miss are the repeat winners of the C Spire Gillom and Howell trophies, respectively.
The awards were presented Monday at a luncheon at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, which co-sponsors the awards with C Spire.
Moody, a senior, led the Southeastern Conference in scoring with an average of 23.1 points per game for the 20-11 Rebels. Vivians, a sophomore, was the SEC’s second leading scorer with an average of 17.3 points per game for 26-7 State.
Both players ended the season spectacularly. Moody dropped 43 points in his last home game against arch-rival Mississippi State. Vivians scored 26 points in the SEC Tournament Championship game against No. 2 ranked South Carolina.
Mississippi State’s Gavin Ware and Quinndary Weatherspoon were the other two finalists for the Howell Trophy, named for Naismith Basketball Hall of Famer Bailey Howell. Shandricka Sessom of Ole Miss and Chelsey Rhodes of Delta State were the other two finalists for the Gillom Trophy, named for Ole Miss great and Mississippi Sports Hall of Famer Peggie Gillom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)