C Spire Outstanding Player Award Winners Announced for the 2020-2021 Seasons

Posted on: May 24,2021

Honors for top college athletes in football, baseball and basketball were awarded during a virtual presentation.

Jackson, Mississippi (May 24, 2021) – The Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame & Museum announced the winners of the C Spire Outstanding Player Awards during a virtual presentation on Monday, May 24, 2021. This is the first time in the 25-year history of the program that the Outstanding Player awards were conferred at the same time. The Conerly Trophy in college football, the Howell Trophy in men’s college basketball, the Gillom Trophy in women’s college basketball and the Ferriss Trophy in college baseball comprise the four elements of the C Spire Outstanding Player Award series.

Photo by Petre Thomas/ Ole Miss Athletics

The C Spire Conerly Trophy was awarded to Ole Miss wide receiver Elijah Moore. Moore played in 8 games during the 2020 season and had 1193 total yards, averaging 149 yards per game. He scored 8 touchdowns on the season with the longest being for 91 yards. Moore set the school record for most yards in a game (238), most catches in a game (14), and most touchdowns in a game (3). Nominees for the C Spire Conerly Trophy included Brad Foley (Belhaven), Daylen Baldwin (Jackson State), Christian Roberts (Millsaps), Cole Fagan (Mississippi College), Emmanuel Forbes (Mississippi State), Jerry Garner (MS Valley State), and Arvin Fletcher (USM).

Photo by Petre Thomas/ Ole Miss Athletics

The C Spire Howell Trophy was awarded to Devontae Shuler of Ole Miss. Shuler averaged 15.3 PPG while shooting 40% from the field, 34% from behind the 3-point line, and 76% from the free throw line. He also had 43 steals which was in the top 5 in the conference. Nominees for the C Spire Howell Trophy included Tristan Jarrett (Jackson State) and D.J. Stewart, Jr. (Mississippi State).

Photo by Todd Van Emst/SEC

The C Spire Gillom Trophy was presented to Ole Miss forward Shakira Austin. Austin averaged 18.6 PPG, shot 51% from the field, and 75% from the free throw line. She had 245 rebounds, 48 blocked shots, and 43 steals on the season. Nominees for the C Spire Gillom Trophy included Jackson State center Ameysha Williams and Jackson State guard Dayzsha Rogan.

Photo By Austin Perryman

The C Spire Ferriss Trophy went to Mississippi State outfielder Tanner Allen. Allen played in 52 games this season batting .387. He scored 54 runs, had 79 hits, 13 doubles, 5 triples, and 8 home runs. Allen also accumulated 53 RBIs and was 8 for 11 in stolen bases. Nominees for the C Spire Ferriss Trophy included Landon Sims (Mississippi State), Kevin Graham (Ole Miss), Gunner Hoglund (Ole Miss), and Doug Nikhazy (Ole Miss).

The winners for C Spire Conerly, Howell, and Gillom awards were selected by a statewide media panel along with a fan vote conducted by C Spire counting for 10% of the total vote. The C Spire Ferriss Trophy winner was selected by a panel of Major League baseball professional scouts and coaches along with the C Spire fan vote.

Photo by Joshua McCoy/Ole Miss

The Entergy Hull Trophy was also presented during the awards program to Royce Newman of Ole Miss. Named for Mississippi State and NFL offensive lineman great Kent Hull, the award goes annually to the most outstanding offensive lineman in Mississippi college football. It is chosen by a panel of former coaches, former NFL players, and scouts. Newman becomes the 8th winner of the award and the third winner from Ole Miss.

Watch the full program hosted by Charles Davis below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)