Finalists for the 2017 C Spire Howell and Gillom Trophies Announced

Posted on: February 27,2017


Peggie Gillom Granderson and Bailey Howell, the namesakes of the C Spire Howell and C Spire Gillom Trophies

The finalists for the 2017 C Spire Gillom Trophy and the C Spire Howell Trophy have been named. C Spire will be presenting these awards to the most outstanding women’s and men’s basketball players in the state. A state-wide panel of media vote for the top three players in each category and then fans vote online at The finalists will attend a banquet at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum on Monday, March 6th beginning at 11:30 a.m. and the winners will be announced at that time. This year marks the 13th presentation for the Howell Trophy and the 10th for the Gillom Trophy.
Named in honor of MS Sports Hall of Famers Peggie Gillom-Granderson and Bailey Howell, these C Spire awards signify excellence by those receiving the award. Gillom-Granderson played and coached at Ole Miss and still holds many of their records while Howell averaged over 27 points per game in his years at Mississippi State prior to an All-Star NBA career. Both are expected to attend the ceremony.
The finalists for the C Spire Gillom Trophy are:
Brittany Dinkins of University of Southern Mississippi
Victoria Vivians of Mississippi State University
Morgan William of Mississippi State University
The finalists for the C Spire Howell Trophy are:
Sebastian Saiz of University of Mississippi
Devin Schmidt of Delta State University
Quinndary Weatherspoon of Mississippi State University
Statistics through games played February 25, 2017:
Games FG%   3PT% FT% RPG Steals BLK   PTSG
Dinkins                          29         .481   .250   .670   7.1   45       5       18.4
Vivians                          29         .382   .299   .762   4.5   46       9       17.2
William                         29         .468   .342   .820   2.0   51       3       10.2
Saiz                               29           .475   .300   .746   10.8 30     30       15.1
Schmidt                       26           .377   .317   .835     6.6   38       5       22.9
Weatherspoon           26         .457   .387   .778     5.1   44       7       16.5
7 different players received votes for the Gillom Trophy while 9 different players got votes for the Howell Trophy. Fan voting begins Monday, February 27 at 8:30 a.m. and continues through 5 p.m. on Saturday, March 4th. The C Spire fan voting will be at Media votes count for 90% of the final count and the fan vote the remaining 10%. Tickets for the C Spire Gillom and the C Spire Howell Trophies are available online by clicking here or at the Hall of Fame office at 1152 Lakeland Drive, Jackson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)